Diary of a Housemaid #5

April DofH

April 1935

It was my birthday this week. I did not tell anyone about it but apparently my brother William wrote to Florence to let her know. Florence and the other housemaids then put some money together and they bought me a selection of film magazines and a box of toffees from town. I woke up on the morning of my birthday to find a little brown paper package at the end of my bed. It was a lovely surprise!

Easter was late this year and the local Easter dance was the day after my birthday. Mrs. Seddons gave us housemaids and the footmen permission to attend, though we had to be back by ten in the evening. I spent a good hour getting ready, trying on the new dress Mother made me. Florence let us all use her lip-rouge and we tried to fashion our hair like that of the girls in the film magazines. This was more difficult than we first supposed it would be. I do not understand how these girls can look so perfect! The dance itself was lovely. The hall was filled with couples dancing and friends laughing, everybody was having fun. I even met a young man! George is visiting family who live nearby but he lives in a place called Watford. That is near London! He is so sophisticated, so unlike the boys from around here. Sadly he is travelling back home in a week but we agreed to meet on my half-day for lunch and a walk around the estate. I am so excited!

Rose Bailey

Leave a Reply

